My Naval Journey PT.1

Well my journey in the military began in early 1997. You know what let me back track just a bit cause this is important and my upbringing will help you later in my story. My father a retired USAF AC-130 fuel mech (vietnam era) so we traveled quite a bit. Birth in Tacoma, stationed in Ramstein then retirement from Hurlburt AFB in Florida. So through my father I have a great respect for the military. My folks are Christians and I was raised in a Baptist church & private school till the decision to homeschool.

Besides a respect fer the military my father instilled in me a strong work ethic, “if you don’t work, you don’t eat” was the word in my house. No allowance, if you want money you work for it. By age 11 I had discovered that folks would give me money to do the dirty work that they didn’t have the time to do. And the better you did the job the more money they would give you. Not only that they would tell their friends about you and you would get even MORE money. WOW what a novel idea (thanks dad). So to make a long story short, cause I don’t wanna bore you with insignificant details, by the time I was 17 I was working overnight at Santa Rosa Mall as night maintenance as well as being the youngest manager at the Wendy’s fastfood chain.

I’m sayin all of this to make a point, I may have done some stupid things in my life, but the way my father and mother raised me I have never asked for a handout. In early 1997 I decided to follow my father’s footsteps and join the military. My brother had already joined the Air Force and was in the desert taking care of business so I decided to try my hand at a Naval career. Went to the local recruiters station and Timothy Barnes worked to get me in. No here’s where it gets a little tricky. I made an 87 on my ASVAB, which is fairly good since the national average is down around 35 and the highest you can make is a 99. But remember the whole homeschool thing? They wouldn’t let me in because my diploma wasn’t state acredited. So Barnes told me to go take my GED and that would be all i needed. Well i refused, I worked very hard fer my diploma and wasn’t going to bend. I told Barnes if the Navy wanted me they would find a way to get me in. Moral of that story? Never bend on your principles, also learned from my parents. I continued to work until December of 1997 when my recruiter called me and said they found a way to get me in and accepted my diploma. So 17 Dec 1997 I shipped out of Mobile Alabama to Chicago Illinoise to begin my Naval Journey.

I HAVE BEGUN THE JOURNEY IN THIS FASHION SO THAT YOU WOULD BETTER UNDERSTAND MY UPBRINGING AND THE IMPORTANCE OF GOOD PARENTING.

Standard

5 thoughts on “My Naval Journey PT.1

  1. I’m looking forward to hearing more.
    I’m glad you didn’t give in on the diploma!! My ex sister in law’s boys, who all were Canadian citizens, even though they lived down here, were homeschooled. After 9/11 and after they graduated from homeschool, they became US Citizens, 2 joined the Marines and 1 the Air Force. They didn’t give in either. I’m glad the military has changed it’s policy about homeschooled kids.

Leave a Reply

