Part V of my Naval Journey. 9/11

Fer those of y’all who’ve been following my Navy journey in blog form this will be my final journal because 9/11 is  where my journey really began and also where it ended. I’ve presented y’all with some amusing stories from boot camp to “A” school, I’ve shared some highs and lows from my experiences as a Sailor in the USN. But this one will be a bit different because it will tell how I was personally impacted by a treacherous attack by God hating Muslims.
Things happened so fast on 9/11 that my memory of the event is a bit clouded until about the 2nd day underway when the reality really set in, bit I will do the best I can.

My ship (USS LaSalle AGF-3, striking forces South Command Ship)
image

was moored alongside the  Land and we were all looking forward to some good times in Gaeta Italy with another ships company. I recall we were just shifting from ship to shore power and securing #1 MMR. I was in P-3 division so was getting off the ship a little quicker than the other engineers. As I walked across the messdecks towards the quarter deck I glanced back at the TV to witness the first plane hit the Trade Center. I vividly remember thinking to myself, “wow, that is some really good trick photography”. I got to the QD saluted the ensign and made my way down the pier, out the gate and across tbe street to one of our favorite hangouts, Rendezvous. I grabbed a stool at the bar and realized what I’d seen on site TV was reality and not some camera man’s idea of a good joke. Holy smokes, could this actually be happening??  I watched in horror as the 2nd plane made impact….”Rob, line me up about 8 shots if you would, I don’t reckon you’ll be seeing us fer a while” I told the bar keep. I looked back at the mast and sure enough the recall flag was flying. Now I don’t glorify my lifestyle at the time but I downed those shots in about 5 minutes and made my way back to the ship…..so much for a good night on the town. Sad that in a moment of national crisis that’s all I could think, that some stupid terrorists messed up my good time. Little did I know they messed up more than that. We later found out that ET1 Hemenway
image

and our XO Commander Patrick Dunn
image

were both killed at the Pentagon. You see, 9/11 touched lives around the world.
Well, we fired up those ol steam plants and underway we went. I’m not going into any detail on the events of the ensuing underway, if you’re a Sailor then you can imagine about how it went. Steady steaming and angry at the world we now lived in, we performed our duties as United States Sailors.

Up until 9/11 I was fairly nonchalant about the threat of Terrorism in the U.S. but I made it a personal goal of mine to study and understand the Muslim “faith” and more importantly, how they were infiltrating my precious country.  Never again would I be caught unawares of what was happening around me, never again would I be surprised at the inhumanity we know as Jihad.

Now we stand on another anniversary, Benghazi, the media would downplay the importance of it and politicians will say “what difference does it make”, to which I reply….”IT MAKES ALL THE DIFFERENCE IN THE WORLD”. We have allowed Islam to creep into our country. We’ve allowed Islam to infiltrate our childrens classrooms.
image

We’ve allowed Islam to broadcast on our televisions. We’ve allowed Islam to take over our White House in the form of the Muslim Brotherhood. We’ve allowed Islam to pervert our Justices and courtrooms. We’ve allowed Islam to openly attack our soldiers on our military bases and WE’VE ALLOWED THIS PUKE FACED PRESIDENT TO CALL IT AN ACT OF WORK PLACE VIOLENCE.
image

Are we so stupid as to forget what happened on 9/11? Will we allow the memory to lapse?
image

I remember coming back to the States following the brutal attack of 9/11 it seemed the entire country was unified against a common enemy.

FOLKS IF WE DON’T GET THAT UNITY BACK AND WORK TOGETHER THE MEMORY OF 9/11 WILL FADE TO BLACK AS ISLAM DESTROYS EVERYTHING WE KNOW AND LOVE….THERE IS NO PEACEFUL MUSLIM, ONLY SILENT AND DEADLY INFILTRATORS.

Standard

9 thoughts on “Part V of my Naval Journey. 9/11

  1. 9/11 is a very sad day in America’s history. I remember 9/11/2001 as if it was yesterday. I got an early morning call from my son, saying, “Turn on the TV, we’re being attacked!” I was numb. I couldn’t grasp what that meant. A plane hitting a tower surely didn’t mean our country was under attack. And then the 2nd plane and the events of the 3rd and 4th planes made the reality sink in. The pictures of that day are permanently etched in my mind. We’ve been under attack every day since then. Although not violent, the infiltration of our schools, our government and our churches surely is an attack on our society. 9/11/2012, the attack on the Benghazi embassy, is a reminder that violence against Americans is constantly a threat. However, it’s only a symptom of the real threat… the destruction of our country. Once the most powerful and respected nation in the world, the America we once knew, is being destroyed by factions from within. I see tears in Lady Liberty’s eyes. I weep with her.

  2. “FOLKS IF WE DON’T GET THAT UNITY BACK AND WORK TOGETHER THE MEMORY OF 9/11 WILL FADE TO BLACK AS ISLAM DESTROYS EVERYTHING WE KNOW AND LOVE….THERE IS NO PEACEFUL MUSLIM, ONLY SILENT AND DEADLY INFILTRATORS.” Amen Libslayer….Amen

  3. Great post, Slayer.
    I’ve said this before, but thanks again for your service, partner. I’m in your debt, literally.

    The memory of that day is seared into the brains of most of us. Which makes it odd to me that there seems to be almost an embargo on seeing footage of the day on Network TV.

    If we really were serious about never having this happen again, you’d think we’d see that footage often. Instead, it’s only folks like us that want to keep it close to our hearts, and allow it to inform our perspectives going forward.

    Or then again, when you look at the obvious bias of the media and the Dems, and whose favor they seem intent on currying, perhaps it’s not so odd at all…

    • I can say along with every other veteran that service to this country was an honor and privilege. I’m 4th generation veteran and was at one point hoping my son would be 5th. Alas that dream is gone. If he choses to refrain from entering the military I will back that 100% And If he choses to join I will pray For his strength and wisdom.

Leave a Reply

