Happy Veterans Day.

I’m a veteran….17 December 1997 I joined the worlds finest Navy. Toured all over the Mediterranean Sea, Adriatic as well as the Black Sea aboard the USS LaSalle AGF-3

          (may she rest in peace)

image

But this blog ain’t about me…its about my shipmates. I had the honor and privilege of working with the greatest group of pit snipes who ever lit fires in a main machinery room. My God these fine folks could make those screws turn. Whether we were providing power with the SSTG’s, or pumping out fresh water with the distilling plant, making LP air and steam, setting fire watches, inspecting shaft alley, steady steaming or running GQ….I wouldn’t want to have served with a greater group of tremendous sailors.

image

If I tried to list all of the men and women I served with I would bore you half to death….but a couple I’ll name because we were like a band of brothers. MM3 Lieble, MM3 Billiot, MM1 Cornelius, BT1 Hartman, BTC Kipp, MM3 Villasana, MM3 Michaeliuk, MM3 Wilson, SH3 Kitchen….seriously the list could go on (I know I missed a lot) but these were like brothers to me. These men and women exemplified honor, courage, and commitment.

And 9/11 affected even the 6th Fleet. We lost our XO Commander Patrick Dunn at the pentagon.

image

http://www.arlingtoncemetery.net/pdunn.htm

             Also ET1 Hemenway

image

http://www.timehonoredtributes.com/content/biography.asp?bio_id=614

We worked hard and we played hard……

WE WERE/ARE SAILORS…
image

Standard

8 thoughts on “Happy Veterans Day.

  1. MissWendee says:

    Wow. My heart dropped when I saw the USS LaSalle…it’s like watching something die. So sorry about your ship, but thank you and your family so much for all of your service. Families serve too. 🙂 Happy Veterans Day!

  2. Pingback: HAPPY VETERANS DAY!! | THE PERFECT GARDEN HOSE

Leave a comment