REPENT FOR THE KINGDOM OF GOD IS AT HAND!

image

Matt. 3:4 KJV “And saying, Repent ye: for the kingdom of heaven is at hand.”

I Jn 1:9 KJV ” If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.”

Acts 3:19 KJV “Repent ye therefore, and be converted, that your sins may be blotted out, when the times of refreshing shall come from the presence of the Lord;”

Once again I haven’t written any thing fer a while. My life has been, good Lord, hectic to say the very least. Juggling family, church, work and political activity to say I’ve been busy would be an understatement. But I come to ya’ll tonight with a message that the Lord shared with me through my wonderful son. On any given evening after dinner and before bed time our family of three gathers around each other to share what’s happened throughout the day and to spend some time in devotions together then followed by prayer. (they say the family that prays together, stays together. And after 10 years of marriage I can testify to that truth…..also there is documented evidence of the same.)

biblestudytools.com “The old adage, “The family that prays together stays together,” received some additional credence this week. A survey by the National Study of Youth and Religion at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill found that adolescents ages 12 to 14 reared in religious households are more likely than their peers from nonreligious families to admire their mother and father, to not run away from home, to eat dinner with their parents and to have Mom and Dad involved in their social lives.”

Well anyways, we were done with devotions the other evening and were praying together. I had shared that evening about how we should confess our sins to the Lord in order to keep our hearts pure before Him. Well, my son was praying and I was listening in on the conversation when I noticed a trend in what he was sayin. “Dear Lord help me to not get angry…..dear Lord help me to not fight with my friends…..dear Lord help me to respect my parents….” I’m not making this up that is almost verbatim what he prayed that night. As he closed his prayer the Lord smacked me in the head and said, “how many times have you asked fer help instead of asking fer forgiveness?” I thought about this all the next day till I had a head ache the size of the state I live in (yup that’s Texas) and I came to the conclusion that askin fer help (while there ain’t nothin wrong with that) is entirely something different from askin fer forgiveness. I really don’t think that God can or will help us until we first repent of the thing that is separating us from His presence.

Now all that bein said I reckon I should clarify something fer you guys…..I never once criticized my son fer his prayer. At ten years old he is just speaking his heart to the Lord and I would never wish to discourage him in any way. When he prays sincerely it is so moving and wonderful, and unless you have children you probably wouldn’t understand this emotion.

I WOULD CLOSE THIS BLOG BY ENCOURAGING YA’LL TO SHARE SOME TIME EVERY DAY AS A FAMILY. #1 AMONGST YOURSELVES & #2 TOGETHER AS A FAMILY WITH GOD. I’VE SAID IT BEFORE AND I’LL SAY IT A HUNDRED MORE TIMES. THIS COUNTRY AIN’T A GONNA FIX ITSELF…..IT’S GOTTA START IN OUR HOMES…

Standard

24 thoughts on “REPENT FOR THE KINGDOM OF GOD IS AT HAND!

  1. AMEN brother. As a mother blessed with three (now adult) children, allow me to add the ‘train up a child in the way he should go’… IT IS TRUTH. Many times (probably much more than I am aware of) my children, now out in that big, bad ‘real’ world, have told me that when they have found themselves in particular situations, that the Word of God came back into memory to them and they were able to remember what they were taught as young ones… HE is SO FAITHFUL!! All glory, praise and honor to our Lord Christ Jesus for the precious and miraculous gift of FAMILY.

    p/s: I think our Father in heaven would much rather us ask Him for ‘help’ (His guidance, protection and will to be done in any and all situations) than for us to have to ask His forgiveness after we have tried to ‘handle it’ on our own. 😉

  2. Very well said again Libslayer. While I understand the need to repent first, true repentance is turning away from the sin- and a lot of times, I need help to do that. I get frustrated and angry a lot, somewhat selfish O:) and yell. I am constantly asking forgiveness AND help, because I know I can never turn away from some things on my own. Seems like the harder on my own I try, the worse my behavior gets. So its like the Lord is slapping me upside my own head and telling me to trust Him to help me.

    It’s so nice to see your son praying, or should I say read about him praying. I’ve been trying to raise mine in the Lord, taking him to church, reading the Bible in front of him, with him and teaching Bible study in homeschool. He’s seen me on my knees, tears running down my face, he’s seen me pray in the car, heard me pray while hanging the laundry, dad says grace before every meal. But for some reason, my boy just isn’t catching on. I pray he will. I need to trust that a child brought up in the ways of the Lord will not turn away from it when he gets older.

    Excellent post brother. I always learn and enjoy reading!! I’m so glad you’re doing this!

    Duckie

    • Duckie do not be discouraged. I know after years if praying for me my mother probably got discouraged many times. But I am proof of God’s promise that “when they are old they will not depart”
      You lay the ground work as God directs and I assure you God will do the rest

  3. Thank you. I’m reminded just now too of a few mothers who prayed for their sons, as they were unruly and somewhat wayward when they were boys… John Bunyan comes to mind 🙂 So does Augustine’s mother, and the Wesley brothers mom. sigh.
    Thank you my friend. I appreciate that very much!

    • Who said it? “The hand that rocks the cradle rocks the nation”
      Mothers are such an important part of our children’s lives…I’m so blessed that God has given me a wonderful mother and a Godly wife. 🙂

  4. Wonderful and moving post, Slayer.

    And I agree: prayer as a family is a wonderful bonding agent, and it creates a habit that stays with kids. My sons (12 and 14) are solid boys, thus far, and their spiritual lives are a big part of that.

    Great job, partner, and thank you…

    • Thanks JTR . Just by reading your blogs I know that your sons are being raised in such a way that they will honor God through their lives. God bless you my friend and brother in Christ.

  5. OK, I don’t know who or which post to reply to… so, making a ‘new’ one.

    DUCKIE and LS!! GLORY TO GOD, AMEN!?

    Matthew 18:20

    20 For where two or three are gathered together in my name, there am I in the midst of them.

  6. Slayer of libs, I am very excited to come back to read your blog and not be disappointed. I have definitely felt the effects of praying together and the effects of not. Such a difference it makes! We still have anger and attitudes in our house but we are growing. I appreciate people like you that are doing right! rock on brother in Christ! I already know that one must seek Him to find him but, I too, ask for help and not forgiveness. Let’s fix America one house under God at a time!

Leave a Reply

