Lost in the Wrapping, Let’s celebrate Christmas folks.

Well, its that time of the year again…its CHRISTmas. And just between me and you I don’t really like Christmas. Now don’t get your panties all up in a bunch, give me a sec and let me explain myself. I love the idea of Christmas, its a day set aside to celebrate the birthday of my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. Many hours of research have gone into the actuality of whether Dec 25 was the day Jesus was born and I ain’t goin into that discussion here. To me the date doesn’t matter (and if God thought it important it would have been documented), it’s a world wide day set aside to celebrate the birth of The King, and to me that is what is important. I reckon what I hate is the commercialization of Christmas. Corporate America has taken a sacred day and turned it into a day of thriftless spending…a competition you might say to buy the best gift. Christmas has taken “keepin up with the Jones'” to a whole new level of ignorance.
image

Families actually in competition to get the children to say that theirs was the best gift given.

But I do enjoy that Christmas brings back childhood memories of pranks and funny gifts. Empty boxes placed under the tree while parents snickered under their hands as the children tried in vain to guess what the heck was inside. Tiny gifts placed in a series of boxes so that it took half an hour to unwrap a pair of socks. Gag gifts at Christmas parties that brought smiles to all but the recipient. Oh man, those are great memories.

 

But have you ever gotten that one gift that was wrapped so eloquently, the paper seemed made of solid gold, edges folded to perfection, the bow a magical work of art. The wrappings so beautiful that it seemed a shame to destroy it just to see what was inside.
image

Well, that package represents all that is wrong with modern day Christmas. We’ve gotten lost in the wrappings and forgotten all about the actual, gift which is Jesus. This year I would like to challenge all of us (myself included) to get back to what this special day is all about. Let’s set aside the gifts and paper fer just a minute and get back to the basics.  My family started a tradition 3 years ago that I would like to share with yall. On Christmas eve my wife and son go to the kitchen where they bake and decorate a cake. On Christmas morning before any gifts are opened we gather around and read Luke 2:1-14 then we light some candles on that cake and sing happy birthday to Jesus. It has become a wonderful time of sharing that I look forward to every year. Perhaps this is something yall could do or add your own personal touch to it.

John 1:14 KJV says ” And the Word was made flesh, and dwelt among us, (and we beheld his glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father,) full of grace and truth.” <===NOW THAT IS WHAT CHRISTMAS IS ALL ABOUT.

Standard

6 thoughts on “Lost in the Wrapping, Let’s celebrate Christmas folks.

  1. I love it. I am tired of all the pre Christmas brawls, the commercialization, on and on. I agree, it may or may not be the exact date of our Savior’s birth, but the day to think about the Greatest Gift ever given is what’s special and important.
    My brother in law and his family have a birthday cake every Christmas. I love THAT tradition! 🙂 Merry Christmas!!

  2. LS, you are a blessing to me 😀 thank you.

    When my kiddos were young, we wrapped up an empty box, all perfectly done in the best paper and bows we had. Made it look real snazzy… but, as I said, on the inside it was empty. That Christmas present was our gift to Jesus. It reminded us that we may be all ‘pretty’ on the outside, but on the inside we are empty without HIM. On Christmas Eve, we read the Scriptures, had hot chocolate, meats, cheeses, etc… while candle light warmed the room and soft CHRISTmas music filled the air. Precious memories that at this moment, are getting me a bit choked up. *sigh* I miss my ‘babies’… 🙂 But, to everything there is a season, and I am proud of the wonderful, upstanding adults they have all become… ‘proud’ yes, because I am human, but more THANKFUL to our Father, who has faithfully kept each of them in His care. 😀

    Merry Christmas to you and your family… may our Lord God bless and keep you all in His precious care!

    • OH WOW, I think that we will add that to our traditions…I’ll present that to my family and see what they think. Thanks TeachX3 and may God bless you this wonderful Christmas. 🙂

Leave a Reply

