My faithlessness is before me.

Wow …I mean really, WOW!  I have been studying the book of Jeremiah for a few days now (well, to be honest I’ve been stuck in chapter 1 for three days now). Today I moved on to chapter 2 and God immediately slammed me in the head with a 2X4. He does this from time to time,  mostly cause I’m a hard headed idiot and He has plenty of wood to spare.

In the first 3 verses God speaks to the children of Israel,  through Jeremiah,  and kinda calls them to remembrance.  A remembrance of how and when he led them forth out of the land of Egypt. How their enemies fell like so many bowling pins before them as they claimed the land promised to His servant Abraham. All of this leads up to verse 5 which is where the Lord really began speaking to me. Vs 5 comes with one of those implied answers. Kinda like when we ask our kids “did you really think you’d get away with that?”  <=== implied answer is NO!

Jeremiah 2:5 KJV "This saith the Lord,  what iniquity have your fathers found in me, that they are gone far from me, and have walked after vanity, and are become vain? "

Just let that question sink in for a minute……
image HT wolfiehowls.com

I'm hoping the gravity of it struck you just as it did me. I go off and do my own thing seeking neither God's will nor approval. And the entire time I'm there royally messing things up, God is behind me (I say behind because I've turned my back on Him) asking me the same question. "What Paul, did I sin against you that caused you to take matters into your own hands and forsake me?" Man I'm telling you what, that hit me like a ton of bricks when I read it. A light came on and I realized I need to reevaluate my priorities. And I'm not sharing this cause I think you're jacked up…quite the opposite.  I'm sharing this because God told me I am. When I gripe and complain about my country or family or church being in such a mess I must realize that it's my own stinkin fault. 

God bless,  that is all for now.

image

Standard

Leave a Reply

