Call unto me and I will answer thee

So out family has taken on the challenge of memorizing one Scripture verse a week as per instruction of Psalms 119:11. Well this week I chose Jeremiah 33:3 (we rotate each week and a different person picks the verse) because I’ve been studying the book of Jeremiah for over a month now. I’ve had an amazing time learning about the prophet and gleaning some nuggets from this major prophet. Well, verse 3 reads
Jeremiah 33:3 KJV
“Call unto me, and I will answer thee, and shew thee great and mighty things, which thou knowest not.”

image

I really grabbed ahold of this verse and claimed it as my promise for the week but upon further investigation I discovered a wonderful truth that I wish to convey to y’all.  Tonight I was reading the chapter again in its entirety and God really spoke to me.

Jeremiah 33:1-3 KJV

“1. Moreover the word of the Lord came unto Jeremiah the second time, while he was yet shut up in the court of the prison, saying,
2. Thus saith the Lord the maker thereof, the Lord that formed it, to establish it; the Lord is his name;
3. Call unto me, and I will answer thee, and shew thee great and mighty things, which thou knowest not.”

God was speaking directly to Jeremiah while he was in prison and He gave him this wonderful promise. But think just a second. God didn’t promise to get Jeremiah out of prison. He promised to show him great and mighty things. I believe this promise was dependent upon Jeremiah being at peace and satisfied with the situation he was in. Too often we think that if we call upon God that He’ll deliver us from trials and tribulations when often that’s not the case at all. We habitually cry and complain and ask God to puleez puleez get me out of this ‘prison’. The apostle Paul said it best.

Philippians 4:11 KJV
“Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content.”

I truly believe this is where God wants us to be. In a true state of contentment,  now don’t confuse this with complacent because that is never the will of God. 

So to close this I would like to encourage you if you’re going through some tough times and you feel like all hope is lost to just sit back and thank God for all of the blessings (trust me if you look really hard you’ll find them) and then call out to God seeking a message from Him. I’ll lay ya 10 to 1 that He will respond with a message so powerful that you will be filled to overflowing with the peace that passeth all understanding.

image

Standard

10 thoughts on “Call unto me and I will answer thee

  1. Loved this Libslayer. It’s a perfect message and reminder right now. It’s “funny” that while right now I’m trying to maintain my sanity for various things, I still trust the Lord, as He has delivered me, or helped me through some tough places, dark places in my life. He will this time too.
    Thank you Brother. Loved the graphics too. 🙂

    • I wrote this more for my benefit than anyone else to be honest because I get in such a rut with not trusting God to be with me no matter the situation. That being said, if it helped you in any way then it’s just a added bonus. 🙂 I’m so happy you read it. God bless ma’am.

  2. Spot on. I love this verse. As we evolve in faith and trust in God, there is a peace that comes through even the most difficult times. So glad you wrote about this. Many will be blessed.

Leave a Reply

