what controls me?

I have been doing a really good study in the mornings before work with my wife. This has been a wonderful time of growth spiritually for both of us and also a time where we can draw closer to the Lord together. Well, this week we did a brief re-visitation of the story of Abraham and Isaac and the events that transpired on Mt Moriah. If you’d like to read it for yourself, the reference is Gen 22:1-18. If you haven’t read or heard it, this is the time God asked Abraham to take his only son and sacrifice him. The faith of both men amazes me every time I read this story. How could a father willingly sacrifice his son and on the flip side of that coin, how could a son allow himself to be done thus so by his father? I believe that Isaac knew what was transpiring even as they made their way up to the mountain he questioned his father, “where is the sacrifice?” to which his father replied “God will provide Himself a lamb”. The eventuality is that God did indeed provide the sacrifice needed without having to harm Isaac.

As my wife and I shared some thoughts from this passage and we pondered on  the goodness of the Lord I had another thought. My thought was, “what controls me?”, what do I serve, what drives me every day? How did you get this from the story of Abraham and Isaac you may ask? Well, give me a bit and you’ll understand. Last year beginning of December I decided to take a long needed break from Twitter. This may not seem important to you but that’s because you don’t spend the time hollering about politics on twitter like I do. The goal was simple….take a couple weeks off and focus on God and family instead. During the first couple of weeks I had enrolled in school and gotten some other much needed things done. Optest sat….I am officially finished with letting twitter control my life and if it ever interferes with my life again I will simply delete the accounts. Twitter is something that was sidelining my relationship with God and was in turn affecting my marriage and family, it had become an idol.

Exodus 20:3-5(KJV)

Thou shalt have no other gods before me.  Thou shalt not make unto thee any graven image, or any likeness of any thing that is in heaven above, or that is in the earth beneath, or that is in the water under the earth.  Thou shalt not bow down thyself to them, nor serve them: for I the Lord thy God am a jealous God, visiting the iniquity of the fathers upon the children unto the third and fourth generation of them that hate me;

I made a little test I’d like y’all to perform entirely between you and God but answer truthfully or it’s kinda pointless.  WHAT IS THE FIRST THING YOU GRAB A HOLD OF IN THE MORNING??         For me the answer was simple #1 my phone #2 my can of snuff. Near as I can tell the first thing you grab is most likely the thing which controls you the most.

Psalm 24:3-5 (KJV)

Who shall ascend into the hill of the Lord? or who shall stand in his holy place?  He that hath clean hands, and a pure heart; who hath not lifted up his soul unto vanity, nor sworn deceitfully.  He shall receive the blessing from the Lord, and righteousness from the God of his salvation.

If God doesn’t have the preeminent spot in our hearts and lives then we are kinda wasting our time just playing at religion. And if this is just a game to us then we are wasting valuable time. God says in Isaiah 42:8 that “My glory I will not give to another”. Our God is a jealous God. He is jealous for our time and affection. He is jealous for our worship and adoration. He is jealous for our service and commitment. Serving God is similar to being married, a man cannot share his heart with 2 women and leave both physically, mentally and emotionally satisfied. So I leave you with this simple thought…..WHAT CONTROLS YOU?

Standard

One thought on “what controls me?

Leave a Reply

